Time zone: GMT/UTC plus 10 hours
Current time: 17:39
Population: 53,000
Political status: commonwealth in political union with the US; federal funds to the Commonwealth administered by the US Department of the Interior, Office of Insular Affairs
Climate: tropical marine; moderated by northeast trade winds, little seasonal temperature variation; dry season December to June, rainy season July to October
Terrain: the southern islands in this north-south trending archipelago are limestone, with fringing coral reefs; the northern islands are volcanic, with active volcanoes on several islands

The Northern Mariana Islands are part of the United States commonwealth, including all of the Mariana Archipelago in the Pacific, with the exception of the island of Guam. Most of the inhabitants live on the islands of Saipan, Tinian and Rota. Some of the northern islands experience volcanic activity. The climate is tropical and pleasant for much of the year although the islands can suffer from typhoons, especially between July and November.

Latest posts